Commission IFOMPT

ABSG MATHERA.be is the member organization of the International Federation of Physiotherapists and Physiotherapists Specialized in Orthopedic Manual Therapy (IFOMPT).  Recognition as an IFOMPT member organization means that manual therapy formations meet IFOMPT's educational standards for advanced orthopedic manual physiotherapy.

The IFOMPT Commission of ABSG MATHERA.be is responsible for verifying and validating the certificates and diplomas of physiotherapists who have followed an IFOMPT approved educational program in Belgium.  Physiotherapists with a master's degree in science or a postgraduate academic master's degree in manual therapy can obtain an  IFOMPT-certification as a manual therapist.  In addition, this working group monitors the five-year follow-up of IFOMPT.  During this international assessment, the Belgian formations in manual therapy are checked wether they meet the educational standards of the IFOMPT.

However, in Belgium, the approval of manual therapist is governed by the laws on specific professional qualifications in physiotherapy and by local and federal authorities.

The Federal Public Service (FPS) Public Health, Safety of the Food Chain and the Environment is responsible for the various legal aspects related to the profession of physiotherapist (delivery of the physiotherapy visa, competence to define the standards that physiotherapists must meet to obtain and maintain  recognition of their specific professional qualifications).

The Flemish and French Communities are responsible for administrative and executive aspects in Flanders and Wallonia respectively (recognition of professional diplomas for Belgian and foreign physiotherapists, definition of quotas, management of the approval commission).

For all information relating to training and further training for physiotherapists and physiotherapists with a particular professional qualification, visit the websites of the French Community and the Flemish Community of Belgium.

Commission IFOMPT

    ABCIG MATHERA.be est l’organisation membre de la Fédération internationale des physiothérapeutes et kinésithérapeutes spécialisés en thérapie manuelle orthopédique (IFOMPT). La reconnaissance en qualité d’organisation membre de l’IFOMPT signifie que les formations de thérapie manuelle répondent aux normes éducatives de l’IFOMPT en matière de physiothérapie manuelle orthopédique avancée.

    La Commission IFOMPT d’ABCIG MATHERA.be se charge de la vérification et de la validation des certificats et diplômes des kinésithérapeutes qui ont suivi un programme éducatif agréé IFOMPT en Belgique. Les kinésithérapeutes titulaires d’un master en sciences ou d’un master académique post-universitaire en thérapie manuelle peuvent obtenir l’agrément IFOMPT de thérapeute manuel.

     

    Toutefois, en Belgique, l’agrément de thérapeute manuel est régi par les lois sur les qualifications professionnelles particulières en kinésithérapie et par les autorités locales et fédérales (textes de loi dans les archives de l’Intranet).

     

    Le service public fédéral (SPF) Santé publique, Sécurité de la Chaîne alimentaire et Environnement est responsable des différents aspects légaux liés à la profession de kinésithérapeute (remise du visa de kinésithérapie, compétence de définition des normes auxquelles les kinésithérapeutes doivent répondre pour obtenir et conserver la reconnaissance de leurs qualifications professionnelles particulières).

     

    Les Communautés flamande et française sont responsables des aspects administratifs et exécutifs en Flandre et en Wallonie respectivement (reconnaissance des diplômes professionnels de kinésithérapeutes belges et étrangers, définition du contingentement, gestion de la commission d’agrément).

     

    Pour toutes les informations relatives aux formations et aux perfectionnements destinés au kinésithérapeute et au kinésithérapeute ayant une qualification professionnelle particulière, rendez-vous sur les sites Internet de la Communauté française et de la Communauté flamande de Belgique.

     

    Membres du commission IFOMPT

    Guy Van Dyck (President)

    Shaun Malone

    Leen Uyttendaele

    Ellen Van Camp

    Sebastien Wolfs

     

    Bart Van Thillo representante la Belgique chez IFOMPT.